Corita Kent // International Signal Code Alphabet

Special Edition

Produced in a similar fashion to Corita Kent’s Damn Everything but the Circus, originally released in 1970, International Signal Code Alphabet Special Edition is presented within a commemorative boxset containing all 26 letters, reproduced now as fine art prints. Limited release of 100.
About the book:

International Signal Code Alphabet by Corita Kent, produced in collaboration with the Corita Art Center, releasing June 1st 2018.
Radical American artist, educator and once-devout Catholic nun, Sister Mary Corita Kent’s provocative serigraphy has entranced audiences for over four decades. Originally completed in 1968, Kent’s Signal Code Alphabet, encompasses a series of 26 kaleidoscopic serigraphs integrating scripture, typography, image, icon, and the maritime flags of the International Code of Signals. As 2018 marks the 50th anniversary of both the series’ completion, and the centennial of Kent’s birth, this celebratory publication reproduces Kent’s International Signal Code Alphabet for the very first time in fine art monograph format.
An introduction is authored by Corita Art Center Director, Dr. Ray Smith, accompanied by a foreword authored by Kent scholar, artist & curator Aaron Rose

Publisher: Atelier Editions
80 pages
26 colour illustrations
24cm × 34cm
Format: Box
ISBN: 9780997593563